VFA receive DST sponsorship boost

Caption: Radin Sufri Radin Basiuni (L), the Assistant General Manager, Group Corporate Communication of DST presenting a mock cheque to Sharbini Hj Mohiddin, the Vice President of the VFA. Picture: Ak Fauzi Pg Salleh

Ak Fauzi Pg Salleh

DST continue their association and support for the Veteran Football Association (VFA) with a sponsorship handover for this season's DST National Veteran Football League.

Presenting the sponsorship cheque on behalf of DST was Radin Sufri Radin Basiuni, the Assistant General Manager, Group Corporate Communication of DST and received by Sharbini Hj Mohiddin, the Vice President of the VFA.

Sharbini expressed his appreciation and gratitude to DST for their enormous contributions entering the eighth year as title sponsor.

"We are very thankful for the continuous support given by DST throughout the years and we hope that with this sponsorship we will be able to contribute to the development of football in general," said Sharbini in an interview with BruSports at the sponsorship handing ceremony held at the DST Headquarters in Tungku Link yesterday.

"Other than football competitions, we as a football association would like to contribute more to the development of youth football in this country, and we have plans in the pipeline for this season to organise football clinics and workshops," he added.

The DST National Veteran Football League's season kicked off on February 19 with a Sumbangsih Cup clash between Al Idrus FT and XN FT.

Al Idrus FT defeated XN FT 4-0 to clinch the first piece of silverware of the season at the Tutong Sports Complex.

Former DPMM FC player Hj Mohd Subhi Abdillah Bakir bagged a brace while Mohd Sadiy Abdullah Tujoh and Mohd Eddie Arsham Mohd Salleh also found the back of the net.

A total of 43 teams are currently vying for top honours in this year’s Veteran Football League championships marking a significant rise since its inception where only 10 teams competed.

This year will also see a different format introduced with teams divided into two divisions in the President's Cup: President's Cup 1 and President's Cup 2.

All competing teams will also be competing in the FA Cup, while a new competition called Champions Cup will also be introduced featuring winners of President's Cup 1 and President's Cup 2 and FA Cup.


Comments are closed.