Kuantan Rangers defeat Rizfiz for winning debut in Brunei Futsal League

Yee Chun Leong

KUANTAN Rangers made a winning debut in the Brunei Futsal League 2017 with a 3-0 victory over Rizfiz FT last night.

Norkhairi Abdul Rahman bagged a brace while Khairul Rizuan Harif Pagilah netted the other at the Multipurpose Hall of the Hassanal Bolkiah National Sports Complex in Berakas.

Both teams had played out to a goalless draw in the opening half with the best chance coming in the 13th minute for Kuantan Rangers.

Mohd Akhmall Abdullah did most of the work before putting the ball across goal but Muhammad Iqbal Aikal Mohd Noor couldn’t get a touch to it.

Rizfiz goalkeeper Raimi Awang Rashid also did well to deny their opponents twice late in the opening half.

Kuantan Rangers finally broke the deadlock in the 25th minute after Khairul Rizuan got at the end of a cross from the right by Muhammad Iqbal.

The Malaysian side doubled their lead in the eight minutes later with Norkhairi starting and ending the play.

He played a ball from the left to Mohd Akhmall and continued his run before the latter put it back in the area for him to slide it home.

They almost added to their tally moments later with a long ball over the top by Mohd Akhmall but Norkhairi volleyed inches wide.

It was 3-0 with just over six minutes to play with Mohamad Imanazuan Mohd Daud assisting Norkhairi for the goal.

Rizfiz had an opportunity to cut the deficit from the penalty spot with just over a minute from the final buzzer but Mohamad Fadhillah Mohd Azri fired over.

The second game saw Miri FA cruise to a 6-0 win over Najip FC.

Goals from Mohd Shafarisman Anuar, Raymizzan Abdul Rahman and Saifuddin Sawal gave Miri FA a 3-0 advantage at halftime.

Mohd Shafarisman netted his second early after the interval before Mohd Hafizul Mohd Alif and Mohd Fitri Zoll completed the triumph.

Brunei Futsal League 2017 standings as of May 19, 2017

The competition continues today with Kuantan Rangers taking on MS ABDB (Royal Brunei Armed Forces Sports Council) at 7pm.

The second match pits two-time defending champions Kota Junior against Miri FA at 9pm.

Comments are closed.