10PM edge JC ‘A’ to claim top honours in The Run Off Volume 1

Caption: 10PM in a group photo with tournament organisers after receiving their prizes. Picture: Yee Chun Leong

Yee Chun Leong

10PM emerged champions of The Run Off Volume 1 after defeating JC ‘A’ 11-9 in overtime last night.

Two crucial freethrows inside the final minute separated the two sides at the Brunei Basketball Association (BBA) court in Batu Bersurat.

Willie Jong (R) of 10PM goes for a reverse layup against JC 'A'. Picture: Yee Chun Leong

JC ‘A’ started out the better of the two teams and raced off to a 5-1 lead midway through the opening 10-minute half.

10PM finally found their rhythm and responded with six unanswered points to grab the lead.

JC ‘A’ did get another basket late in the period to see both sides deadlocked at 6-6 at halftime.

Both sides were finding difficulty to score with JC ‘A’ up 8-7 with five minutes to play in regulation.

JC ‘A’ led by as many as two points before two quick basket by Willie Jong and Anton Lim saw them tied at 9-9 with 30 seconds left.

Md Zainul Ashyraf Hj Hussin surrounded by 10PM players. Picture: Yee Chun Leong

Anton Lim (C) of 10PM takes a jumpshot against JC 'A'. Picture: Yee Chun Leong

Md Zainul Ashyraf Hj Hussin, who bagged the topscorer award, watched his jumpshot rim out and Jong would race down the floor before getting fouled on a layup with eight seconds left.

He missed the ensuing freethrow to see the game move into overtime - two-minute extra time.

10PM went in front with a minute left after Michael Pang netted a freethrow, despite hurting his left leg, and Jong would hit another from the charity stripe with just over 30 seconds left to settle the tie.

Jong, who was named the MVP of the competition, credited his teammates for a good showing.

“It is the first time for us playing together as a team after a long while,” said Jong in an interview with BruSports News after the victory.

“I appreciate all the help from my teammates (to get the MVP). We all did our best and happy to get this result,” he added.

Michael Pang (R) of 10PM hit a crucial freethrow in overtime. Picture: Yee Chun Leong

A JC 'A' (R) player takes a jumpshot while being defended by Nicholas Horas of 10PM. Picture: Yee Chun Leong

Meanwhile, TJP claimed the bronze after edging Lava Media by the same scoreline in overtime in the third-place playoff.

A total of 12 teams separated into four groups participated in the one-day tournament which began at noon.

JC 'A' pose for a photo with tournament organisers. Picture: Yee Chun Leong

TJP claimed third place. Picture: Yee Chun Leong

Willie Jong (2nd R) of 10PM finished as the MVP. Picture: Yee Chun Leong

Md Zainul Ashyraf Hj Hussin of JC 'A' finished as the tournament's topscorer. Picture: Yee Chun Leong

Comments are closed.